Grief Healing Discussion Groups

I Lost My Fiancee

Hi, My name is Laurie and this is my first time here, or for going through anything like this. My fiancee, Sean had Diabetes. He passed away on Oct. 8th, just over a week ago. I have so much guilt and hatred for myself right now for a lot of reasons. We were together for four years, but we had some bad problems a few years back. He tried so hard to get my forgiveness and to get our relationship back to the way it was before. But I was so stubborn, angry, hurt, bitter, jealous etc. to let my guard down again. He always said he wanted my forgivness and my trust and I always said, "I can't." It breaks my heart to know that he died not knowing how much I love him. We had gotten engaged shortly before our problems, but I took my ring off. He always asked me to put it back on, but I never would. How could I be so mean and hurtful? I put it back on after he died, that day.

That's just the beginning of my guilt though. Like I said he had Diabetes. He was very careless with it and was hospitalized about six times with Pancreatitis. Each time, he'd swear to eat better, take better care of himself etc. But he wouldn't keep it up very good. I helped with his diet by buying him the right foods and stuff, but he'd eat a lot of things he shouldn't have. I have so much guilt that I didn't keep after him more. I should have made sure he took his medicine, but I didn't.

It got to the point where I'd get mad at him for winding back in the hospital again.