Grief Healing Discussion Groups

New Here And Trying To Accept

pebbles

Hi everyone,

I am new to this and I am trying to accept that my dad is dying. I am having a real hard time and its worse because they live in Arizona and I am in the midwest. Anyone have any suggestions? It feels as tho I am watching someone elses life...denial, anger, fear and sadness. So overwhelming!!!

Pebbles,

I don't know that I can offer any help. I just lost my mom a few weeks ago and I too am losing my dad. I know how hard this is and how sad you must feel.

The only thing I know that helped with losing my mom was when we knew we would lose her, I spent as much time as I could with her and I told her all the things I wanted her to know. I look at that time as a gift. We laughed, cried , held eachother and said good-bye. It was the hardest thing I have done, but the one thing that I will always treaure. I told her she was such a good mom and my best friend. I told her all the "good"in me, I got from her.

So, my wish for you is to spend time with your dad and make sure you get the chance to tell him all the things you want him to know. Take care.

Pebbles,