Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Emotional Gears Are Stuck

goldsunshine897

Hi everyone,

It's been a long time since I posted here, but suddenly today I felt the need to. I lost Bruce over 4 yrs ago and time has slowly revealed a problem that I had forgot I had. I was always a shy socially awkward person. I would go to work, then school then home and that's it. I never had alot of friends as a adult so I didn't do many fun things at all. I met Bruce at work one day and we were together ever since (8yrs). I have coped pretty well now with his death, it's just that I haven't dated anyone or made any close friends either. I do feel lonely now and I definitely want to share my life with someone -but its so hard getting out there on the dating scene; I'm a complete novice. Some coworkers keep asking me why I don't have a boyfriend yet and I feel so uncomfortable I just don't know what to say. It makes me want to clam up and not speak to anyone, but that only leads to more shyness so I know that's not good. When I was with Bruce- I didn't have a life so I lived vicariously through him. I actually merged my identity with his. I see now that that wasn't healthy which is why I really want to live life to the fullest now. But if the thought of inviting a man over for coffee is so nerve-wracking that my stomach gets into knots, I don't know how or when I'll get over this. I've read that some of you have found love and happiness after your loss and I am truly happy for you. My prayer is that I will one day soon be able to come back and post about my growth in this area. I appreciate any thoughts or responses you may have to what I wrote. Thank you much.