Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Nothing Helps

Melissa138

Hi everyone,

My name's Melissa and I lost my best (and often times only) friend, Lola, in June. I'm really struggling just to stay afloat if that makes sense. It took 2 months for me to even acknowledge that she was gone. It recently has gotten so bad that I had to take 2 days leave from work. Luckily I work in the veterinary field, and have amazing and supportive coworkers.

I know it's supposed to hurt. I know what I'm going through (thoughts and emotions) are normal. I have people I can turn to. But nothing helps. I don't know what else to do.

I even avoided posting here as I'm at a loss for words.

She would have been 11 on Thursday.

I am so sorry for you loss! I too lost my Boo Bear therapy dog last July and just cant seem to find my heart!

One thing though, is I want to ask you to be extra kind and tolerant of your self NOW because with the holidays occuring everything tends to hurt so much more.

You have lost your family it is always so HARD the first season. Be willing to take the time to grieve as deeply as you need to! There are people you coulod talk to but I feel that if you could just cut out the coming days and wake up in january you would cause why would you smile when you are crying inside? Dear One, sure wish we could help in some way! Just let us know what and how!!!

Hugs

CJ

Hi Melissa,

I'm sorry for your loss. Can you tell us a little about Lola?

It does take time to process and assimilate the huge loss, and your adjustment will be at your own pace, little by little. I hate to think what I'll be like when I lose my Arlie someday...I have lost many pets over the years, and each one is hard, and each one is different. When we are especially close to one, it leaves a gaping hole in our heart to match the love we have for them.