Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Bitterness? How Do I Get Out Of It?

So in two weeks itll be 2 months since my dad passed and Im going okay, struggling with motivation for college and all that jazz but lately I have been full of anger. I graduated HS with a girl who had her parents do everything for her and her dad was a mean man who through his weight around to get what he wanted and I cant respect people like that but I was recently looking at her Facebook and all I can think is "why me?" why cant someone who only steps on people and does mean things get to live such a happy life and keep both her parents when I had to lose my dad to cancer and this is my ONE chance at getting a degree because I used my dads income for FAFSA.

I dont want to have a pity party but what the heck. why do others get live such an easy life? I would never wish the loss of someone on someone else but why cant I have healthy parents. I am so glad that my dad is no longer suffering but I want him back. I just want a hug.

My best friend told me that its probably because people like that girl couldnt handle losing someone but i dont know. I feel like life is unfair lol

It is common to wonder why others seem to "get off" so easy in life but in the years I have lived I have learned everyone has a story, everyone has pain. We do not know another's pain until we walk in their shoes and that, of course, is impossible. I am so sorry you lost such a good man. Peace, Mary

I seem to wonder that all the time. It seems like everyone I know has both parents, I just have to try and escape parent conversations and hope they don't ask me about mine (my Mum died 6 years ago and my Dad hasn't wanted anything to so with me for 10 years).

Just think, this girl will have to fend for herself one day, hopefully she will have learned something.

Stay strong! :)

Shari,