Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Any ideas to help a devastated friend?

I am going camping for a long weekend at a music festival; I've been doing this for about ten years. In the beginning, I didn't know anybody in the campground, but I kept parking my tent and whatnot in the same part of the campground and gradually the group in that corner of the campground became an interwoven group made up of smaller groups, but at festival time we were all one. Tim, the guy who really held it all together and roped everyone else in, died last November. He was 46. Tim was an extremely talented, gregarious, bright guy who did absolutely everything to the hilt, whether it was eating drinking, drugging, playing music, cavorting around, bonding together a group or former strangers, fixing stuff, staying up all night, cooking, or anything else. And he looked like you might think he might - big and loud, laughing all the time, but he clearly was struggling. He died of his lifestyle.

He really used music to connect people, and he would stop at nothing to pull people together. I have never seen anything like him. One of the funny things he used to do was to assign familial relationships between people who weren't related. There is a younger guy that he started referring to as his son, always in some humorous and outlandish way. Two years he started referring to me as his wife Jill's cousin, asking her where her cousin was and not telling her that he was talking about me until a year later. He was really really funny.