Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Six Months September 30

Next week will be a very significant marker of six months since my husband took his life. I have been meeting with a grief therapist for a few months, which has been so helpful on my journey. Recently I went to a widowed persons meeting and had such an uncomfortable experience as the people shared their stories of nursing loved ones who had terminal illnesses. I didn't share my story because I felt so ashamed that my husband didn't fight for his life the way others had; where do I belong I wondered...Since then I learned of an organization that sponsors an awareness event called Out Of The Darkness Walk, which is a fundraising opportunity to provide suicide prevention. I decided to participate in the walk in my city next Saturday, Oct 3, in memory of my husband and also in hopes of increasing awareness so that people who feel so helpless and hopeless will know that there is help for them. Please keep me in your thoughts and prayers, this will be an emotional experience for me and all my fellow walkers who have lost their loved ones the same way. Thank you, Mary

I don't even begin to know how to help you other than to tell you that we are all here for you. I don't know the circumstances and it is none of my business but I can only imagine your grief. I had a friend whose child committed suicide and there is a website for survivors of suicide. I think that may be the webadress also but I don't know if it is .org or what. You may want to look in to it as well as this site.

I am glad you are going to a counselor and that it is helpig. I know that grief is grief and a lot of things are similar but each case is also unique. Please let us know what you need from us. We will help you as much as we can.