Grief Healing Discussion Groups

How Do I Get Back To "normal"?

jkw

I received my Hospice Newsletter yesterday, and found this discussion board in it. My mother passed away on June 14 2006. I took care of her, 24/7, for the last few months of her life. It was one of the hardest things I have ever done, but I wouldn't have wanted it any other way.

I am having a hard time with this. I thought I could go on "normally", but that is not what is happening. My daughter told me that "I used to bounce off the walls", because I was always doing something. Now, there are days where I don't even get dressed, and will just sit in my recliner all day. Some days, I have no desire to do anything at all, and I feel like such a failure. Is this normal? Are there others who feel this way? Since this is my first time losing someone so close to me, I don't know what is right and wrong??

I have two brothers and one sister, all out of state. The brothers are really good at telling me what I should be doing to take care of Mom's estate, and how to sell her house, but have not lifted a finger to help me. My sister came over one weekend and helped me go through Mom's things, but she works full time, so everything is left for me to do. Mind you, I don't mind in the least bit doing this for my Mother, but it makes me angry when the two brothers just sit back and tell me what I am doing wrong. It tends to take away from me being able to grieve and move on.

Anyway, I don't know what I am supposed to feel or how I am supposed to be acting. It's been a little over 3 months since Mom died, and I still don't know how to get through this. I thought if I could talk to others who are going through the same thing, that it might help. My husband is being great through this whole process, and my daughter is trying to help me too. I feel guilty on those days when I just can't do anything but sit there. My husband tells me that it's OK, and to do what I need to do, but I still feel guilty.