Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Is My Fear Of Forgetting Irrational?

My Glenn has been gone for almost 3 months now, and I've developed a fear of forgetting. I look at his photos and worry about forgetting how he fiddled with his moustache, how he walked, how he moved his hands when he was working. I don't want to forget a single thing, but it occurs to me that when people say "time heals", what they really means is that time fades our memories and I just can't bear that thought. I have a notoriously bad memory, anyway, and although the big picture of our life together will never fade, I'm so scared of losing the intimate memories that made him who he was. I know there's nothing I can do about this, but being afraid of it is becoming a concern.

Have others had this same fear?

Di

Hi,

I too have had this fear so no worries! I can't believe I'm in my second year without my dear husband. Sometimes I just wish time would stop, but it doesn't we have to keep going. I feel it's just my way of not wanting to let go I want to hold on so badly! I have two very young children and I'm always speaking of their father and showing photos to keep his memory alive. I don't ever want to forget so I understand I still hold onto all the dreams and memories. In my mind I feel like letting go is abandoning my husband. I know he would want me to let go of some of the stuff I carry around and not feel so hostage to it! Well, I just wanted to say I can relate and I think it's normal.

If it helps, I keep a file on my computer and make entries daily. One document in the file is a list of those little memories...so I do not forget. Not just gestures but other little memories like the newspaper that appeared on my chair every Sunday and the hot tea that appeared when I was working too hard at my computer....it helps.

Di,