Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Being Social

It's been a while...I've not caught up on all your posts but I have read some. My daily meditation gathers all the newly grieved on this site into my breathe. In my small way, I'm with you.

We all know the deep loneliness when we lose our life partner. It feels like a sucking black hole.

My husband Fred died 17 months ago. We had 31 years together. Many days still suck me down but mostly I'm hopeful for my future, grateful for what Fred & I shared. He was the love of my life.

Yet I'm stuck and I'd appreciate shared wisdom...I want to feel social again. I'm not looking for romance. I just want to be comfortable being social. It's so hard. Every hiking trail, every restaurant, every event venue in my small town evokes memories.

How do we feel social again with all this sadness?

Jo

Hi Jo

I wish I could answer your question. And give advice. But I'm new to this... My darling wife passed eight days ago.

I can offer prayers hugs and hope for peace in your heart.

Butch

Good morning, Jo,

One of the things that we have to do is keep on living and function as best we can. My situation was living as a retired person with my daughter already grown and living in another state with my grandchildren. I did not have the responsibility of raising children or working. This isolated me more and I did struggle with being alone.

I started out small by visiting with a friend and going out for lunch. I needed to be around those who could allow me to be who I was at the time. The emotional support helped me to not feel so alone.

Later I was able to go out to lunch with a small group of friends. It was something I did before Jim died. Lunch was ‘safer” for me rather than going out to dinner.

After spending time with my grief counselor, I went to a grief support group twice a month for a time. A few of us went for coffee and visited on a social level.