Grief Healing Discussion Groups

He Died Two Years Ago

He died two years ago tomorrow. Sometimes it feels like he surely can't be gone and at other times it seems like a century since we last held each other.

Two whole years. I have been trying to figure out what I've been doing for two years. The first month or two I was numb and I only remember cleaning everything over and over again, trying to keep busy and needing to escape reality. I didn't dare sip a glass of wine, I was so sure it would lead to a 1/5 of tequila. I sold my husbands business, filed for social security for the kids and learned that I might be losing my job. Oh, and my husbands father found out he had cancer and almost died too. In my spare time I remember spending a lot of time curled up in a ball on the floor or screaming in the shower hoping the kids wouldn't hear me. I was wrong, they heard everything and I probably have scarred them for life.

Month three and four I knew I couldn't survive the pain, it was just too hard. I spent hours begging god to take me to be with my husband. I couldn't sleep and lost 25 lbs, which put me at 5'8" and 105 lbs. Everyone begged me to eat and I refused. I was pissed off and knew that NOT eating was one thing I had control of. I lived off water and occasionally gagged down a salad. I couldn't sleep and the doctor prescribed somthing mild and made sure I only had a months supply so I couldn't kill myself. He had the gall to chastise me for not having had my mammagram and I remember telling him he was nuts if he thought I was going to do anything to prolong this hell. First time I had smiled in weeks.