Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Isn't it my choice?

My kids were talking about Christmas today and I told them I was choosing not to celebrate this year I honestly do not want to think of that first it hurts to think and it is not here yet. My son told me I had to celebrate because of my grandbabies I told him that it my choice that  I can not force myself to be either happy or sad right now that my emotions are just what the are on that day, am I being selfish for wanting no part a Christmas this year, it was not even that Kevin loved the holidays he was almost always sad or angry around Christmas I think his father passing had alot to do with it on top of the bipolar but on Christmas he would make the Italian Christmas dinner, he would want to hand out the gifts he would have to watch every present be opened it will be hard enough trying to deal with everyone's Christmas cheer around me at work I work in retail not that people do not deserve happiness but it's hard when yours is gone at this moment I do not want any part of Christmas.

• Upvote 5

Robin the first Christmas is by far the worst but it will come no matter if you choose to celebrate or not.  I might bring up that it's quite a way off yet and it's hard to know how you might feel then. I had a growing apprehension about the holiday as it grew closer and closer.  I ended up decorating and hosting the family dinner as we had in the past. It wasn't the same for certain yet I got through. Somehow you find a way to get through these things and it gets a little easier each passing year. We survive and we adapt. Even if you don't know how, it will still come to pass.  Do as little or as much as you can for you cannot and should never ask more of yourself than you can handle. You might want to give this a rest for now. It looks like you have enough to deal with already. By the way, forcing yourself to be happy or sad would not make the emotions real. It's far better to let yourself be who you are,