Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Beginning of the end

I've been thinking about Charley ALOT this last week. Today was the beginning of our last week together, but we didn't know. Charley and me were a May/ December couple. I'd known him all my life really. I was 4 when my family moved to the country. Charley had the farm behind us. We were always waving at the farmer in the white t shirt and red seed hat that drove the red dodge truck. When I was 13 and my brother was12, he began hiring us to help bale hay and straw. When I graduated high school he hired me as a full time hired man, so to speak. I could work cattle, drive equipment, shovel grain and manure, bale, you name it i did it. I was one heck of a tomboy and we soon had a joke, I could do anything a guy could do but write my name in the snow! We were inseparable. We could finish each other sentences, didn't mind all the work, and loved each other dearly. Our favorite thing to do together, if the farming allowed it, was to drive back to the little woods in the pasture on a Sunday morning with the Sunday paper and enjoy the morning with the wildlife, the cattle, and the singing birds. It was there I saw a duck land in a tree and I couldn't believe a duck in a tree, it was a wood duck! Charley got the biggest kick out of that. He was built for farming. 6 foot tall, 220 lbs. he had a suntan year round. His hands were huge. Bread hooks he called them. His wedding ring was a size 18. He had gorgeous brown eyes and dimples too. He never looked his age and certainly didn't act it either. He farmed until 95. His running gears (legs) were bad he said. He did everything from planting, driving the baler and running the combine right up to 95. He loved saying 95 and still alive. He was looking forward to 98 and feeling great, but he would fall 4 1/2 months short. Charley was certain he'd make 100. I was too. He was healthy as a horse and only took high bp medicine and a thyroid pill. I didn't know there was a anticipator