Grief Healing Discussion Groups

Pain That Doesn't Go Away

Pain That Doesn’t Go Away…

Some of us have been here for a while and others have just joined this group. I wish I could tell you that it will get better, but it doesn’t. What does happen is that we learn that there is a way to live with the pain. Spousal or partner loss is something that tears at your heart in such a way that nothing comforts. You think you understand how someone feels or how someone is doing, but you don’t. Each loss is unique. There are no words that comfort everyone. We are unique and our pain is also.

I have been doing this for almost forty-two months now and there are “triggers” that still bite me in the butt without warning. I turn a corner and ‘bam’, I’m blind-sided; me, who thinks I’ve done everything I could do to ‘heal’ myself! I’ve leaned into my grief, I’ve read about grief, I’ve allowed the pain, I’ve meditated, I’ve done rituals, I’ve shared my pain ~ the grief is still here. It is still very much here.

Something I did not think about is that the pain will always be here. How could it not be? How could things be “OKAY” – life will never be as it was ~ I will never be able to live the dreams we had for those dreams stopped the day he died. Our retirement was supposed to be filled with fun adventures. We were supposed to grow older together. Our retirement home was supposed to be enjoyed by both of us. I will need to find a new way.